HALF a year since my heart became WHOLE

Standard

Everyone tells you “It goes by so fast” I knew it would and I know it will continue to, but this morning I woke up in our big bed and looked down to see that little face looking up at me with his sweet smile and I actually understood how fast “so fast” really is. Yes he still sleeps in our bed. 🙂 And yes, I know it will make it harder later, and I’ve heard everything everyone and their Grandma has to say about it, but nothing will ever compare to the feeling I have when he’s tucked safe under my arm and our whole family is under the same cozy covers.

I remember the first day I saw him, and the first time I kissed his soft cheek, and the way his hair smelled after his first bath… Ok I remember almost every moment I’ve had with him over these last six months. I’ve probably spent a total of one hour away from him since he was born. Now I don’t know if he’d even let me leave for the day if I were to get brave enough. I can’t imagine anyone else catching any of the special moments but me. I can’t imagine what I would do if someone told me I had to leave him. Which is why I’m so proud of my sweet husband. We’re going to miss him so much and I know it has to be hard for him to say bye to his baby. We are so lucky he is so committed to taking care of us and I’m going to do everything I can to make sure he gets to share in all the special moments while he’s gone!

I’m so blessed to have found someone who I know will always be my very best friend and take care of me no matter what… And I’m so beyond blessed that together we have the most amazing little boy. These have been the best 6 months of my life and my heart has never felt so full. We love you more than words little B.

6 month picture

About rachelmikell

I grew up in Ogden, Utah. I graduated high school in 2009 and met my husband a year and a half later while we were both going to school at Weber State University. We got married and moved to Niceville, Florida in 2011. We spent nine amazing months living on the beach while he was in training for the military. In October 2012 our son was born. A week later we moved to Clarksville, Tennessee, where my husband is now stationed. I get to spend my days with my sweet boy and sometimes find the time to do fun projects, paint, and decorate our first home. I've never felt more blessed and I'm so lucky I get to share this life with my beautiful family!

Leave a comment